Barnardo's Board of Trustees is responsible for our governance and strategic direction as a charity.

The Board:

  • agrees our vision and values
  • sets the strategy and policies for our key activities
  • oversees the work we do
  • monitors our progress
  • appoints our chief executive
  • takes overall responsibility for our professional, legal and financial management

Trustees are elected by the Members of Association at the Annual General Meeting. They serve a three-year term and are eligible for re-election.

Members of the Board of Trustees

Wendy Becker (Chair)

Wendy became a Trustee and Chair of our Board of Trustees in May 2018, bringing with her a huge amount of experience in the charity, public and business sectors. She sits on a number of boards including NHS England, Logitech, Great Portland Estates plc, and Oxford University Press. Her roles have included Deputy Chair of the Board of Cancer Research UK, Trustee of The Prince’s Trust and Non-Executive Director of NHS England. In her business career she has been Chief Executive of fashion house Jack Wills, Group Chief Marketing Officer at Vodafone, Managing Director of Talk Talk Residential and a partner at McKinsey & Co. Wendy has also featured in the Financial Times list of the Top 50 Women to Watch in International Business.

John Bartlett (Deputy Chair)

John is Chief Financial Officer for Group Finance at BP, and a director of BP Pension Trustees Ltd. He represents BP and the UK oil industry on tax issues with the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the International Fiscal Association and the Confederation of British Industry (CBI). Before joining BP, he spent 15 years with the Inland Revenue. He is currently a member of the HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC) Business Tax Forum. John joined the Board in 2014.

Neil Braithwaite (Honorary Treasurer)

Neil joined the Board in 2011. He is a chartered accountant and has worked in a variety of finance and leadership roles at Asda and the Co-operative Group. Neil is also chair of the Brathay Trust, a director of the Guinness Partnership and a governor of the Co-operative Academies of Stoke-on-Trent and Leeds.

Jennifer Achiro

Jennifer leads Microsoft’s partnerships with local and regional government in the south west of England. Her speciality is digital transformation – helping clients achieve their goals by using digital services. She is also responsible for delivering Microsoft’s National Empowerment Plan in the south west, which aims to bring the benefits of technology to the people who need it most. Jennifer became a Trustee in 2017.

Alexis Cleveland

Alexis started her career as a statistician in the civil service, where she became chief executive of the Benefits Agency and later the Pension Service. In 2007 she joined the Cabinet Office as Director General for Transformational Government. Her current roles include chair of the Northumbria, Tyne and Wear NHS Trust and Vice Chair of Council at Durham University. Alexis joined the Board in 2011.

Stephen Goldman

Stephen is an independent fundraising consultant, specialising in organisational restructuring, governance and fundraising strategy. Previous roles include UK Executive Director of Friends of The Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Director of Fundraising at Jewish Care. He is a former adviser to The Prince's Foundation for Children & The Arts and a Trustee of the Prince’s Regeneration Trust. Stephen became a Trustee in 2016. 

Zoe Harris

Zoe is Group Marketing Director at Trinity Mirror, where she oversees print and digital marketing at a national and regional level. She previously worked at various other media organisations, including the Guardian, ITV, MTV and Channel 5. She is a former Trustee for Girlguiding UK and is a Guide Leader for Stockwell Guides. Zoe became a Trustee in 2017.

Dennis Hone

Dennis has spent more than 20 years working in urban regeneration. He is currently Group Finance Director of the consultancy and construction company Mace. Before joining Mace, he was CEO of the Olympic Delivery Authority, and CEO of the London Legacy Development Corporation. In June 2013 he was awarded a CBE for his contribution to the London Olympic Games. Dennis joined the Board in February 2017.

Moni Mannings

Moni became a Trustee in November 2017 and is Non-Executive Director of FTSE250 companies Polypipe Group PLC, where she also chairs the Remuneration Committee, Investec Bank PLC and Dairy Crest Group PLC. Moni is also a governing council member of Cranfield University, was previously a Board member of the Solicitors Regulation Authority and chaired its Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee. She was formerly a senior partner at international law firm Olswang LLP. She subsequently became Chief Operating Officer of Aistemos Ltd, an intellectual property data analytics company.

Darra Singh

Darra is a partner at the international consultancy EY (formerly Ernst and Young), where he leads the firm’s government and public sector practice in the UK and Ireland. He was previously Chief Executive of Job Centre Plus and of Ealing and Luton councils. He also chaired the committee advising Scotland’s deputy first minister on welfare reform, as well as the panel investigating the UK riots of August 2011. Darra joined the Board in 2016.

Colin Walsh

Colin is founder and Chief Executive of Belfast-based venture capital firm Crescent Capital NI Ltd. He has been a venture capital investor in Northern Ireland companies for 20 years. He is also a director of several companies, including NiSoft UK Ltd, Fusion Antibodies Ltd and Replify Ltd. Colin recently completed a two-year term as CBI Chair for Northern Ireland. He became our Trustee for Northern Ireland in 2014.

Find out more