Skip to navigation


Our Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall governance and strategic direction of us as a charity. The Board accepts ultimate responsibility for the sound professional, legal and financial management of Barnardo’s.

The Board agrees our vision and values, sets overall strategy and policies for all key activities, oversees its implementation and monitors progress. It appoints the Chief Executive. Individual trustees are elected by the Members of Association at the Annual General Meeting and are the legal directors of Barnardo’s as well as its trustees. They serve for a three-year term, after which they are eligible for re-election. As well as sitting on the Board, trustees also sit on a number of Committees.

Members of the Trustee Board

Tony Cohen - Barnardo's Trustee

Tony Cohen (Chair)

Tony started his professional life as a newspaper journalist, later becoming a television producer. After running a television production company in the US for several years he became CEO of FremantleMedia, one of the largest global television production and rights companies from 2001 to 2012.

Tony is a Sloan Fellow of the London Business School and a Fellow of the RTS. He joined the Barnardo's Trustee Board in 2011.

Lady Amanda Ellingworth - Barnardo's Trustee

Lady Amanda Ellingworth (Deputy Chair)

Amanda's first career was as a social worker, specialising in child protection. She currently holds a portfolio of non-executive directorships and trusteeships in the field of health and social care.

Among other roles she currently chairs the Guinness Partnership, a national group of social housing and care providers. Amanda joined the Trustee Board in 2009.

John Bartlett - Barnardo's Trustee

John Bartlett

John is CFO Group Finance  at BP plc and a Director of BP Pension Trustees Limited.

John joined BP in 1988, after 15 years with the Inland Revenue. He has held a variety of roles in BP, including Chief Financial Officer (CFO) for Exploration & Production and Group Head of Tax before taking up his present role in September 2015. He represents BP and the UK Oil industry on fiscal issues with the OECD, the International Fiscal Association and the CBI. He is currently a member of HMRC’s Business Tax Forum and was previously on the UK Government's General Anti-Avoidance Review Committee. John joined the Trustee Board in 2014.

Neil Braithwaite - Barnardo's Trustee

Neil Braithwaite (Honorary Treasurer)

After qualifying as a chartered accountant, Neil spent ten years in a variety of finance roles with Asda before gaining extensive experience in leadership roles across the Co-operative Group.

Prior to embarking on a portfolio career as a non-executive director, Neil’s most recent role was as managing director of the Co-op’s Specialist Retail Businesses.  As well as his role at Barnardo’s, Neil is chairman of the Brathay Trust, a director of the Guinness Partnership and is a governor of the Co-operative Academies of Stoke-on-Trent, Leeds and their Primary Academy in Leeds.  Neil joined the Trustee Board in 2011.  

Hugh Burkitt - Barnardo's Trustee

Hugh Burkitt

Hugh has been chief executive of the Marketing Society since April 2003. He founded the agency Burkitt Weinrich Bryant in 1986 and retired in 2002 as chairman of Burkitt DDB.

Hugh studied history at Cambridge, taught in Tanzania as a VSO volunteer and then spent the next thirty years in advertising. He has served as a council member of the Advertising Standards Authority and the Institute of Practitioners in Advertising. He is also a trustee of The Academy of Ancient Music. Hugh joined the Trustee Board in 2009.

Alexis Cleveland Trustee

Alexis Cleveland

Alexis started her career as a statistician in the Civil Service. She worked on health and social security policy before moving into ICT and then operational delivery. She was chief executive of the Benefits Agency and later the Pension Service, both Executive Agencies in the Department for Work and Pensions.

Alexis was asked to join the Cabinet Office as director general for Transformation Government and worked there through the Brown Labour administration and the early years of the coalition government. Her current portfolio includes: chair of the board of the Food and Environment Research agency; a council member at Durham University; Non-Executive Director of the Northumbria and Tyneside NHS Mental Health Trust and consultancy engagements. Alexis joined the Trustee Board in 2011.

Stephen Goldman

Stephen Goldman LL.B

Stephen is an independent fundraising consultant. Previously UK Executive Director of Friends of The Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Director of Fundraising at Jewish Care.

He specialises in organisational re-structuring, governance, fundraising strategy and major gift development. He is a former adviser to The Prince's Foundation for Children & The Arts and a Trustee of the Prince’s Regeneration Trust where he chairs the Development Board and sits on the Audit Board. He is also an Honorary Adviser to the Association of Chairs.

Darra Singh

Darra Singh

Dara is Partner, Government & Public Sector Lead UK and Ireland for Ernst and Young.

Darra was formerly Chief Executive of Job Centre Plus and Chief Executive of Ealing and Luton Councils. Darra chaired the Expert Working Group on Welfare Reform for the deputy first minister for Scotland. Darra was the Chair of the Panel investigating the UK riots in August 2011 and was the Chair of the Independent Commission for Local Government Finance.

Colin Walsh - Barnardo's Trustee

Colin Walsh

Colin is Chief Executive and founder of Crescent Capital NI Limited and has been an active venture capital investor in Northern Ireland companies for 19 years.

An International MBA by background, Colin spent six years with Top Technology between 1988 and 1994. Top Technology was a London-based fund manager responsible for the management of the successful Hambro Advanced Technology Trust family of venture capital funds. In 1995 Colin, sponsored by Hambros Bank Limited, established Hambro Northern Ireland Venture Managers Limited, now known as Crescent. Colin is currently a Director of Balcas Limited and NiSoft UK Limited, Fusion Antibodies Limited, Biznet Solutions Limited and Replify Limited. He is Chairman of the Northern Ireland CBI. Colin joined the Trustee Board in 2014.

Eleanor Williams - Barnardo's Trustee

Eleanor Williams

Eleanor is a solicitor specialising in discrimination law. She is a senior lawyer at the Equality and Human Rights Commission in Wales.

Prior to joining the Commission, Eleanor was a lecturer at Cardiff and Bangor University and Sheffield Hallam University.  She is currently an associate of the Employers’ Forum on Disability, a visiting professor in the School of Management at Plymouth University and a judicial office holder hearing appeals about Disability Living Allowance and Personal Independence Payments. Eleanor joined the Trustee Board in 2008..